Mini Review of ‘The Ocean at the End of the Lane’ by Neil Gaiman

The Ocean at the End of the LaneThe Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Mini Review Time!!!

Being that this is my first book from Neil Gaiman, I didn’t know what to expect. The blurb summarizing the book on the inside cover was interesting enough that it drew me in when I first picked it up several years back, but it sat on a stack of books until someone recommended I read his books, and I will definitely be reading more!

So, initial thoughts when I’d started reading this, were, ‘this book is weird, where is this even going?’ Reading through it a bit more, and I realize that the Hempstocks are…otherworldly–if that’s even the best way to describe them. Their presence in this novel is strange, but they really do help make for an interesting story! I loved the Hempstocks interactions with each other, as well as with the MC of this book. The MC is a seven year old boy when he meets the Hempstocks, and though they all know each other for a short while, theirs becomes a powerful relationship. The MC goes through several horrifying events, and only with the Hempstock’s aide does he even have a chance of getting through them.

I just love the word ‘horrifying‘ when it comes to describing a book, because this is just one of the things I live for when reading!

One more thought before I wrap up. It took me until the end of the book to realize that the MC was never named, and only because it was brought up in an author interview. I guess I was just so engrossed in my read, that I hadn’t even thought about it. Shrug.

Anyway, there we are with my review, I loved this and can’t wait to read more of his books!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

