Review of ‘Dark Room’ by Tom Becker

Dark Room (Red Eye)Dark Room by Tom Becker

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I have to say that I was surprised at how much I ended up liking this book, considering it was more of a slasher-horror story, and I tend to enjoy supernatural stuff way more.

But first, a synopsis:
Darla O’Neill and her childish father, Hopper are on the run after Hopper’s latest scam has come seeking vengeance. With only a few possessions and their trusty Buick, off they go, driving until they end up in the ritzy Saffron Hills.
Hopper manages to use a surprising connection so that both he and Darla end up with a nice place to stay for the time being.
With the help of their neighbor, artist and high school teacher Annie, Darla is quickly enrolled at an exclusive high school, where everyone appears to be blessed with both beauty and riches and Darla is finding it hard to fit in with such “perfect” people (the most popular kids in this school are actually called ‘The Perfects’, cause we all know that perfect people do not have the time to come up with more clever nicknames…).
But if that wasn’t bad enough, Darla starts having these visions where she’s seeing a photographer’s dark room, containing gruesome photos of terrified faces. It’s not long after that she finds out the visions contain things that haven’t even happened yet – but the future – and when it becomes clear that Saffron Hills is again housing its very own serial killer (I say again, because this town has already had the misfortune of having a murderer among them), Darla must use those visions in hopes that they might help her find out who the person is, and stop them from hurting anyone else.

So, as I said before, slasher-horror does not usually interest me. I am not a fan of gore, and I dislike reading/watching stupid teens get murdered because they tend to “somehow” offer themselves up as convenient victims.

But…

I found myself actually enjoying this story and was curious as to who the serial killer could be (I should acknowledge the fact that I figured it out fairly early on in the book, so that was kind of a bummer).

I even liked Darla! Well…enough. She was that typical character who made herself look crazy when trying to warn others after one of her visions, instead of trying to use a rational way to think of how to help get her point across. Then again, this was a tough crowd, and Darla was definitely not one of them.

I also couldn’t understand Darla’s newfound friendship with resident rebel (though still described as rich and beautiful) Sasha. The two became friends after Darla did ‘something’ to impress Sasha. But every time they hung out together, something horrible would happen between/around them, or the two girls would fight, and that would just get irritating to read about, pretty much over and over…

Another thing I just couldn’t understand, is that though Darla didn’t appear to have a phone (guessing due to Hopper’s lack of funding), I still felt that since the girl lives in this nice, modern, technology-filled age, why she never used a computer (like at a library, for instance…) to do any research on Saffron Hill’s previous killer. I mean, she was wanting to attribute a lot of stuff from the current murders to the previous murderer, but she never thought about looking the person up, or newspaper articles to find out more.

WHAT TEEN LIVES IN THE YEAR 2016 WITHOUT EVEN THINKING OF USING THE INTERNET?!?!

Seriously.

Anyway, I enjoyed this book overall and my issues with it weren’t enough to have me docking a bunch of stars in my review, so since I did like this book, I will recommend it to any who enjoy teen slasher stories.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

