Review of ‘A Fabrication of the Truth’ by Katie Kaleski

A Fabrication of the TruthA Fabrication of the Truth by Katie Kaleski

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I so badly wanted to love this book more than I did, and though I did enjoy it well enough, I couldn’t help but find faults with it.

A Fabrication of the Truth is about sixteen year old Lexie Stein, a teen who loves to embellish truths, and is one day surprised to see one day at school, her next-door neighbor’s grandson, Dalton Reyes, since the last time she’d seen him was five years before, lying in a pool of blood.
Lexie, remembering that horrible day, would rather keep distance between herself and Dalton. Then there’s the fact that his family forbids him from having any contact with her, another big incentive. But Dalton is determined to get close to her and just when it seems he’s finally found a place in her heart, Lexie finds out that Dalton is keeping a few secrets of his own, and the biggest one may cut short their time together.

At first, I was loving the interactions between Lexie and Dalton. I thought it was so cute how hard he was trying to get to know her, but the cuteness wore off not long after and I was more irritated by their “instalove” relationship. I say ‘instalove’ because the two were pretty much basing their love on one tragic day that happened when both were only eleven years old.
Sadly, I just couldn’t get past their ridiculous love affair.

I also was confused when Dalton claimed to have PTSD after what happened that day in Lexie’s home, but still sneaks into her basement to spend time with her. Not sure, but it seems a little odd to me to go back to the place that started your problems…right…

Another big thing I should mention is Lexie’s inane need to lie all the time. She does explain where the habit originally started for her, but it seems so ridiculous in comparison to the outrageous claims she’ll make. Sure, you could say she has a big imagination, or that she is a colorful storyteller, but this character is no Anne Shirley, and her stories were just “extravagantly” told lies.

Now I would like to address the issue I had with the way this book ended.

In books where the MC obviously has issues, problems, etc., you kind of expect something groundbreaking to happen in which the MC has a conversation or generally anything that borders on some kind of understanding as to why they are the way they are – do the things they do – but I just didn’t get that A-ha! moment from this.
Something does happen to make everyone take a step back and think, but it still wasn’t done in a way to where I actually believed that Dalton’s hostile family members would suddenly change the way they feel about Lexie and accept her. It just didn’t seem plausible to me.
Also, Lexie and her issues with lying aren’t really properly addressed, and I just didn’t feel like anything really changed (or was going to) for her.

The ending in general was pretty boring, though I actually feel it wasn’t really all that unexpected. I actually wasn’t at all surprised that it ended somewhat cliche, while attempting to invoke feelings. I’ll just say that my heart did not react in any emotional way to the ending, though it could be because I didn’t feel any major connection to the characters.

Oh! I can’t believe I almost forgot this!! So, we’re told that Dalton is a mix of Filipino and Polish, which they attribute his amazing looks to, but other than that one moment, there was no other reference to culture or anything of the like, ever again! (Unless I missed it, which I really don’t think I did.) I would have loved to read anything that gave mention of the Filipino part of him (I’m Asian, so yes I was biased!), but there was nothing! Not even a stereotypical reference that would have had me thinking ‘yup, how Asian of him’!

Oh well, I guess this book and I just weren’t meant for each other, and I will just have to move on to another, sigh.

I received this copy from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

