Review of ‘The Creeper Man’ by Dawn Kurtagich

The Creeper ManThe Creeper Man by Dawn Kurtagich

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

So this book is described as a ‘spine-chilling psychological thriller’ and I have to say I somewhat agree.

Honestly, I couldn’t really make heads or tails of this book for most of it. I tried to picture what we’re being told, that the trees appear to be “creeping” closer to this house that MC Silla, her sister Nori, and her Aunt Cath live in. This was supposed to be a safe haven after the girls leave London (which is on the brink of a supposed World War 3) and an extremely abusive father, for the country home Aunt Cath lives in.

Now, back to the woods.
How is one to explain the fact that they are closing in on the home?
The same woods the girls are forbidden by Aunt Cath to go in?

I guess you’d have to imagine that house, or the trees, and they are slowly inching their way towards the other, though it’s likely when we’re not looking…like a Weeping Angel statue… (Kudos to those who get the reference 😉.)

Anyways, Silla soon has to deal with the knowledge of the creeping trees, and then there’s the fact that Aunt Cath has now locked herself away in the attic, and all she does is pace. Just paces…

Silla attempts to take care of her younger sister, but she’s slowly coming to the realization that food is running low, and being that they are cut off from the rest of the world, they’re likely not going to be getting any more any time soon. But if that isn’t bad enough (could it get any worse? (just channel Chandler Bing when asking that question) Yes, it can.), Silla is now all aware of a someone, or something, that Aunt Cath had warned her about… Something that Cath and her sisters had created as children… Something that was meant to be a savior, but quickly proved to not be…and it is in the woods, yes, the very woods with the trees that creep ever nearer…

I feel that I can now say that this book does reside in the psychological category in the way that you keep wondering, what the heck is going on in this story?
Why does Silla leave Aunt Cath alone to pace the attic?
Why does Silla wander the house and grounds with no discernible purpose?
And why doesn’t Silla take her sister and leave?

Sure, there’s the fact that she’s afraid of the woods, doesn’t want to leave her aunt, and has no idea if World War 3 had in fact erupted or not – oh, and the Creeper Man in the trees – but as you read, you find that there must be something else tying her to the house, and that is one of the main reasons I was so enthralled with this book.

Silla was by no means a likable character for me. But there was something intriguing about her so I had to find out why she did the things she did, and the reasoning behind her thoughts.
Then, when I got to the end and found out…it blew my mind! Mostly because I felt like I should have known how this story was going to end. But since I didn’t, I was pleasantly surprised, and really have to say that I liked this book!

I did dock a star because sometimes I would get annoyed with the way the typeset was being used to express Silla’s feelings and thoughts, so if she was thinking it, the same words could be repeated, taking up an entire page that I would obviously have to skip. Or a variety of sizes would be used in the font, making me feel like I do when people use all caps to stress (or yell) their points. Something of which I’m finding I’m not very fond of. Basically, I’m just not a fan of aggressive font and wasted pages.

Anyway, overall I did very much enjoy this book, and will gladly recommend it to fans of creepy, psychological thrillers!

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review of ‘The Creeper Man’ by Dawn Kurtagich

  1. Pingback: September Wrap-Up | midorireads

Leave a Reply

