Review of ‘Last Seen Leaving’ by Caleb Roehrig

Last Seen LeavingLast Seen Leaving by Caleb Roehrig

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I never really thought about it, but after finishing Last Seen Leaving, I think it’s safe to say that I really enjoy the mystery/thriller genre.

This book pulled me in from the start!!!
MC Flynn comes home one day after skating with his best friend to find police cars in his driveway, then the officers themselves in his living room. After a few vague questions are directed towards himself, he is soon asked about January, his girlfriend. These are also pretty vague and somewhat frustrating, because Flynn obviously can’t help but wonder why they’re being asked, until he’s finally told that January is missing, and has been now for several days (I’ll admit I’m unsure of the exact amount, sorry).

So there’s the mystery of where January could possibly be, and why is she gone? And Flynn can’t help but wonder if she’s gone because she chose to be… As the book goes on, January is slowly revealed to have been hiding a lot of things from Flynn, which has him questioning how well he really knew her feelings and thoughts. We, along with Flynn, also learn that maybe he wasn’t quite the confidant he’d thought he was, but then again, Flynn had a secret he himself was hiding from January as well as everyone else…

I loved the fast pacing of this novel. Flynn is a guy who doesn’t sit back and wait to see if the police can solve the mystery of January’s disappearance, no, he goes right out do a little investigating himself. These investigations lead to some very interesting discoveries and some very exciting moments as well.

Now, I will again say that I had love for this book, but I did have to dock a star because I pretty much had the ending figured out and would have preferred it to be more mysterious than I felt it to be…

Anyway, I will gladly recommend this book to anyone looking for an exciting mystery/thriller combo for young adults.

This copy was received by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to both.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review of ‘Last Seen Leaving’ by Caleb Roehrig

  1. Pingback: September Wrap-Up | midorireads

Leave a Reply

