Review of ‘Half-Blood (Covenant, #1)’ by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Half-Blood (Covenant, #1)Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Here we are with another review of an Armentrout book!!!
(I previously posted a short review of White Hot Kiss (The Dark Elements, #1)  by Armentrout only on Goodreads.)

One thing that I noticed was prevalent when reading reviews, this was prior to actually reading Half-Blood, was that many felt it was a bit of a rip-off of Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. Now, I’ve only read the first of the V.A. books, and did note a few similarities myself, but I still very much liked the way this book was presented.
The first thing I would have to mention in my own review, is that I love Armentrout’s humor!!! Half-Blood was funny in a sarcastic, sometimes roundabout way, and this type of humor tends to be my favorite! Keep throwing sarcasm at me, and I’ll be a happy girl!!

Another thing that I liked were the characters. MC Alex is one of the “half-bloods” alluded to by the title of said book.

(I’m going to try and see if I can describe what the Half-Bloods are as opposed to the Pure-Bloods. The Pure-Bloods are the Hematoi, originally descended from the ‘unions of Gods and mortals’, thus creating a race of people that are pretty much like gods themselves – at least status-wise – and they are kept pure by the fact that they only marry another Pure-Blood and then have Pure-Blood children. The Half-Bloods are the children of one mortal, everyday human, and one Pure-Blood. Hopefully that wasn’t completely confusing, cause I’ll admit it was a bit hard to put into words…).

Anyway, Alex had been on the run with her Pure-Blood mother for the last three years, and after her mother is killed in an attack, Alex is brought back to the Covenant, where she is given the ultimatum – either train to become a Sentinel (these hunt and kill demons, like the ones who killed her mother) or become a servant in a home of a Pure.

Obviously we know which choice she makes, so that brings us to her trainer, a Pure-Blood named Aiden, who Alex very much has a forbidden crush on.

Why is it forbidden?

Halfs and Pures are not allowed relationships, and though they don’t say why, we’re led to believe that it’s like because something catastrophic will happen.

Actually, that just may be how I remembered and interpreted it…

Aiden is pretty good in his role of balancing out Alex’s wild side, and he does prove to be interesting as the book goes on, so I’ll have to see if I still feel this way in the next book.

Lastly, we have Seth, who gives us that famed YA love triangle aspect we all love or hate. I tend to lean more towards the love side, because I’m easy like that, so I enjoyed the way Seth blended into the story and I am definitely excited about seeing his role grow in the future!

So, because I did enjoy this book (and will definitely be reading the next when I have the chance to), I
will
recommend. Just be aware of the Vampire Academy similarities so that you don’t go in thinking ‘why does this sound familiar?’, but instead look at it with fresh eyes.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review of ‘Half-Blood (Covenant, #1)’ by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Pingback: September Wrap-Up | midorireads

Leave a Reply

