Review of ‘Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2)’ by Sarah J. Maas

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2)Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Throne of Glass did not do it for me. In fact, if I were to base what I thought about this series on that one book…it wouldn’t be good thoughts…

The first was so boring to me, and it could be because I still haven’t read the novellas of the things she’d done previous to ToG, but because I didn’t care much for the first, it took a long time for me to finally read this book. I didn’t care for the lengthy descriptions of Celaena‘s outfits, or the lack of action besides that of training and the few times she’d actually interact with others. (Admittedly, I don’t remember a ton from the former book, so I could be wrong about some things.) I wanted more action, and boy, did Crown of Midnight deliver! And honestly, the only reason I wanted to read more from this series was because I wanted to read the newest book Empire of Storms, cause that cover!!!

So, there I was, finally reading another book from the series, and could I have ever figured how much I would end up loving it?!?!

No, I couldn’t.

This book was 10x…no, 100x better in my opinion, and it had me sucked in from the get-go! I loved that Celaena had more substance and that she was more than the one-dimensional fashion plate she appeared to be (to me) in the first book. We find out that she’s genuine, and much more than just the “King’s Champion”. She was definitely so much cooler to me in this one, and I am so looking forward to seeing more of her growth!

The romances, the friendships, and the evils that surround the king and his followers…they were so enthralling! Definitely can’t wait to start the next book, and since I already have it, I will.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review of ‘Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2)’ by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: September Wrap-Up | midorireads

Leave a Reply

