Review of ‘Silver in the Blood’ by Jessica Day George

Going to post somewhat older reviews from my Goodreads every now and then. This one was originally posted several months back (I’ll make sure to get better at adding the dates as well).

Silver in the BloodSilver in the Blood by Jessica Day George

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Every once in awhile, you come across a few books that suck you in as soon you begin it. From the first page you’re enthralled, and you just can’t stop reading.

But this is not one of those books.

This book may not have pulled me in from the start, but once I got about a quarter of the way in, I really found myself interested in what was going on.

Dacia and Lou, American cousins from New York wealth, arrive in Romania to find that their extended family are all acting very strange and suspicious. Dacia is the one who tends to be a bit of a thrill seeker, even finding herself in a bit of trouble when first stopping in London on her way, but Lou is more reserved, and just a bit frightened of people in general. The strangeness that is their Romanian family does not go unnoticed, and it doesn’t take long for the cousins to be drawn into a battle they never knew they were a part of. And whispers that only made quiet, hidden mentions of The Claw, The Wing, and The Smoke.

I started out liking Dacia’s character more, with her strong personality and quick wit. I just couldn’t find an interest in Lou, cause she seemed to be so quick to fear. But as the story went on, I found Lou to be the more endearing one to me, and grew to really enjoy when she was the main focal point. I won’t go into why, but assume that you’ll find out when you read this yourself.

Silver in the Blood was definitely a very well researched book. I read the author’s note at the end, and in it she describes how she had even gone on a tour of Romania with her husband in order to better her research. How can you not have respect for a person who will go through such lengths to write a novel that could possibly be more accurate when describing the place it is set in?

I recommend this book to all, and if you’d like to learn a bit more, please make sure to check out the synopsis on Goodreads!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

