Review of ‘November Rain (Bad Bloods #1)’ by Shannon A. Thompson

November Rain (Bad Bloods, #1)November Rain by Shannon A. Thompson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

November Rain was a short, yet entertaining read, and after the last book I’d written a review for disappointed me, I was so glad to have this one to mak up for it!

In the city of Vendona, there are two types of citizens that inhabit it. Humans and those called Bad Bloods. Bad Bloods are hated and despised because of the extraordinary (albeit unnatural) abilities they posses, and because of these abilities, they are imprisoned then executed. On the day of Serena’s scheduled execution, she escapes, and is saved by a fellow Bad Blood, Daniel. The two go their separate ways after he helps her, but Daniel soon realizes Serena’s importance, and the fact that he’ll need her if he wants to see Bad Bloods regain their rights to be considered humans once again.

I enjoyed that were so many characters, yet each were there to serve a purpose. They were given stories to explain where they came from and how they came to be in either Daniel’s or Serena’s flocks (flocks are the Bad Bloods who live together in hiding and consider one another family). I loved see how much they cared for one another in both flocks and how they maintained the need for safety in a world out to get them. (I would also like to add that the many characters can get a bit overwhelming, and I had to go back a few times to remember who was who, so that was a bit taxing).

Daniel and Serena are both the MCs of this book (the story is told in their dual perspectives), but the other characters feature so heavily, that it almost seems wrong to give them labels. I appreciated both for their love of their flocks, and the fact that they weren’t annoying to me, which definitely made me enjoy this book way more.

On to the thing I’ll say I didn’t like – it’s a teensy thing, but to me it was a wee bit annoying – which was the fact that we’re constantly being reminded of the age of pretty much every character mentioned. Or they were being described as ‘young girl/young boy’, ‘the teenager’, ‘the child’, etc. along those lines… I GET IT!!! THEY’RE ALL YOUNG!!! Anyway, like I said, that was something I didn’t care for, but it wasn’t enough to make me stop reading this book and for me to not enjoy it.

It definitely leaves off on a cliffhanger, but as long as you’re aware that it’s part 1 0f 2 of a duo logy, then all should be golden.

This e-book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

