Review of ‘Lady Midnight’ by Cassandra Clare

Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices, #1)Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

If it’s a Cassandra Clare book, it’s pretty much a given that I will love it. I am a complete sucker for the Shadowhunter world, and my love for this book was no different!

*****POTENTIAL SPOILERS OF ‘THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS‘ SERIES AHEAD…STOP HERE IF YOU PLAN ON READING THEM*****

The last book of the Mortal Instruments series introduced us to the Los Angeles Institute, as well as to Emma Carstairs and the Blackthorn family. But with Lady Midnight, you really get to see how much Emma and the Blackthorns had to adjust to having lost their father, and then their elder sister and brother, all to different circumstances. Because of this, Julian became the younger kid’s main caregiver at the age of 12, and the family has pretty much gotten to the point where they are “comfortable” in their lives.
But when fairy and human bodies turn up, murdered in the same way as Emma’s parents had been, she and the Blackthorns are given the chance to investigate alongside Mark Blackthorn, who is home for the first time since his capture during the Dark War. But, like any good story, they are given a time limit to the solve the murders, otherwise Mark will be taken back, and the family will be left without their big brother once again.

I really loved the core group of characters. Julian and Emma were both extremely likable for me, and I absolutely loved the younger Blackthorn siblings. If I had to choose a favorite from the children, it would have to be Ty, with his smarts and blunt, open personality. I’m looking forward to seeing more of his development, and what he’ll contribute to the series, because I’m more than sure he will have a bigger part.

Being very familiar with LA, I loved reading about the characters driving down the Pacific Coast Highway (or PCH for those in the know), and could almost imagine being there with them! Definitely looking forward to seeing more SoCal references in the books to come!!

Finally, I loved that this series brings with it the question: why Parabatai can’t fall in love? Why is it forbidden, so much so that they can be stripped of their runes and no longer be Shadowhunters? Why such a severe punishment? It’s somewhat answered in this book, but the explanation just isn’t enough for me, and I’m looking forward to seeing what else they’ll add to the topic.

In closing, I will say that I loved loved loved this book and am not sure how I can wait until May of next year for book 2!!!!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

