Review of ‘Girl in the Shadows (Girl on a Wire #2)’ by Gwenda Bond

Girl in the ShadowsGirl in the Shadows by Gwenda Bond

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

When I’d first requested this book, I had no idea it was the second in a series. But I did find out that this was a sequel in the sense that it was the same world and even included many of the characters from the first. With this knowledge, I decided to go ahead and start this book.

Let me start off by saying that I loved the MC Moira. The fact that she was determined to make a name for herself, and was so in love her craft that she made plans (unbeknownst to her father, who had forbidden her from ever becoming a Magician, though he himself was one) to become one of the greatest female magicians ever. This involved her joining a traveling circus, under the pretense that she was spending the summer with a friend, checking out colleges. Moving on, I liked how before every illusion or magic trick, she would tell a small story about the female magicians who came before, and it helped with my understanding her love for magic.

So, as much as I liked Moira, I did not like the instalove she had for Dez, another performer in the circus. It definitely happened quickly, and though the guy did initially pursue her, it didn’t seem to take him long to reel her in. Though she didn’t trust him completely, she seemed willing to overlook it because she thought he was hot. Yup, that sounds like the makings of a great relationship! The romance was blegh for me.

Now, usually I’d bring up other notable characters at this point, but there really weren’t any that stood out for me. Her “friends” were minor roles in this book, and the other people mentioned were also rarely present, and when they were, I didn’t like them.

It’s sad that the MC is the only character I really liked, but overall, this book wasn’t that bad, and though I only gave it three stars, there is the chance that my hang ups may not even bother you, so besides the instalove – and lack of characters with real depth – this book really wasn’t that bad…
I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

