Review of ‘The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)’ by Maggie Stiefvater

The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Okay, so I was thinking, what could I possibly bring to the table when reviewing a book that has been reviewed around 4,000 times on Goodreads?

Sure, not all are full reviews, mostly star ratings, but that’s already a lot of people to base your decision off of when choosing whether or not to read this book…

So, if I am to “add” something (anything), it shall be my own thoughts.

Without further ado, My Thoughts:

I can start off with the normal gushing (I totally could, considering how much I’ve enjoyed Steifvater’s writing in this serious), but I think I will first mention that even though I absolutely loved this book, I did not love the way it ended. For the sake of continuing my non-spoiler method of reviews, I won’t go too deep into why, but will say that it’s mostly because of my own selfishness, and because of horrible writing or anything like that. Now I’m trying to think if there’s anything else I didn’t like…nope. Can’t thinking of anything, so back to what I liked.

I still very much enjoyed the characters and I loved the addition of Henry Cheng, the boy you can’t really make heads or tails of. He’s kind of mysterious in the sense that he suddenly seems to be everywhere, and though he seems friendly enough, you can’t help but wonder when it’s an Aglionby boy (considering how things went with the last one they had interactions with…). I also can’t help but laugh at the fact that he had a friend that everyone called ‘Cheng Two’, even though this person was not a Cheng, and not even Asian. Loved it.

Obviously our core group still holds a special place in my heart. I very much preferred Adam in this book. He’s finally stopped being so whiny, and being that he has more important priorities, he does manage to keep himself busy, which in turn helps him in the ‘not being whiny’ department.

Ronan is still as amazing as ever. This book really draws him out in a way I hadn’t seen coming (which makes me wonder if I’m clueless, or not perceptive? (I can pretend those are two very different things if I want to!!)), and he’s made all the more vulnerable because of numerous events. This boy is a wound that refuses to heal, and I really understand why he is such a rough individual.

On to Gansey. We all know what his future has in store for him, but you gotta wonder, going into this book, what he thinks of it? Cause seriously. The boy is smart. We can’t assume he hasn’t figured things out already. His growing relationship with Blue will likely have you thinking of her future too, so yeah, what does it hold for these two lovely people? Yup, that was on my mind as well.

Blue is still as amazing as ever. (Wait…did I already say something like this?) I still love the quirky, but level-headedness she brings to group. I also liked that we got to find out some important facts about her, and finally, we get to find out about her dad!!! – Not a spoiler, cause duh, it’s the last book. Anyway, I’ll say that the ‘dad mystery’ was probably one of the things I wanted to learn the most. It was definitely up there on the list.

I should probably bring up Noah, the boy who rounds out the group, but honestly? I’m not sure I really could. His presence is definitely smaller, and I know he had some pivotal moments, but again, I refuse to have spoilers!!!

The Raven King is the end of the Raven Cycle, so, it’s obvious that with the end comes answers (sometimes good, sometimes bad, sometimes not enough), and the knowledge that characters we have devoted our love and time to are moving on in the land of fiction…without us. I will definitely miss this series, and I will miss the characters. I will miss the humor, cause these books really could be funny. Sigh…

Anyway, sorry if my thoughts seemed to be all over the place in this review. This is just the way my mind processed when I’d written it out beforehand, so welcome to my cluttered mind!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

