Review of ‘City of Heavenly Fire (TMI, #6)’ by Cassandra Clare

City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments, #6)City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

It took me 19 days to read 38% of this book, and maybe 5 hours to finally read the last 62%.

THIS BOOK HAS WRECKED ME!!!!

I would have never thought that this series would conclude in a way that would actually hit me at such a deep level! Over the years, I’ve definitely grown attached to the Shadowhunter world. So much so that I actually feel like I’m saying goodbye to friends I’ve come to love. I know the series continues with Lady Midnight (and the future Last Hours series), but Clary, Jace, Alec, Isabelle, Simon, and Magnus had become such a unit for me whenever I’d think of Clare’s series, and just as I was affected when I had concluded The Infernal Devices, I can’t help but feel grief for these characters I will deeply miss.

I know Clare’s books haven’t been popular with everyone – and the fact that she had decided to add three more to the original TMI series didn’t sit well with some – but I really did love them.

I loved them even when I grew annoyed when Jace and Clary became a bit of a soap-opera cliche with the constant problems that came between them. Jace’s wit and slightly (okay, maybe more than slightly) narcissistic tendencies, and Clary’s loyal and caring (okay, maybe a bit overbearing and annoying) demeanor worked so well together, that though I did find myself very much irked by them at times, I could help but continue to want to read about them and the rest of the characters. They will always hold a special place in my heart, and I’m sure that over time I’ll probably reread this series at some point.

There you have it…my review…now I must go and not think about how sad I am to be done with TMI

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

