Review of ‘How To Disappear’ by Ann Redisch Stampler

How to DisappearHow to Disappear by Ann Redisch Stampler

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

How to Disappear turned out to be so much more than I thought it would be. I haven’t read many good YA mystery/thrillers, so I wasn’t sure I’d be the best when it came to gauging how good this book would be, but I am happy to say that this was a really good book.

With that being said, I also can’t help but to feel that this runs in the same vein as a Gillian Flynn novel. I haven’t actually read many from her, but the ones I have read are memorable for the way they mess with your mind psychologically. This really had me reeling when I finished it! Reeling in the sense that in one chapter, it really turned the events of the book around for me. I don’t want to say more for fear of spoilers, but I can say that it really does payoff in the end.

The main characters don’t meet until we’re maybe about a quarter of the way in. There’s Nicolette, and she may have either witnessed – or committed – a murder which has her on the run and changing her look at every opportune time so that she may not be recognized and sent home. Then there’s Jack, who’s father had been a hit man (until his untimely death), and his brother a career convict, currently incarcerated for armed assault. Jack though, is the good son, ready to graduate high school and head to college after that. But his brother knows how to push Jack’s buttons, and what exactly will help encourage him to go after Nicolette and “get rid of her”. This has them embroiled in a bit of a cat and mouse game (though Nicolette has no idea of it) until they finally do meet, and manage to really hit it off. I found that the difference with their relationship and ones I’m used to in YA, is that it’s not so flowery, and the progression is much more realistic to everyday life.
I did like the two of them a lot, though I couldn’t understand why Nicolette never tried to check on the progression of the murder investigation she was running from. I feel like if it were me (God forbid), I’d be checking online to see exactly what was going on, if there were leads or anything mentioning me, but that wasn’t brought up at all, so I’m not sure if I missed something, or it was just not mentioned at all.

Anyway, as I stated earlier, the ending really brings the book together and is why I will gladly recommend this. If you don’t already have this in your TBR, be sure to add it!

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

