Review of ‘The Dream Thieves (Book II of The Raven Cycle)’ by Maggie Stiefvater

The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle, #2)The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Seriously. Maggie Stiefvater knows what she’s doing.
She knows just how to string words together to make Blue and her family so lyrical. She knows how to make Gansey, Ronan, Adam, and Noah each so unique, that you can feel the emptiness when one is missing from a scene. And she knows exactly when a situation could use some humor.

This is obviously only book 2 of the cycle, but I am more than impressed by how much I’m liking this series. I absolute love the flow of the books, and I love that it’s not a story that’s completely focused on only Blue and her developing relationship with the guys, in regards to romance. Romance is lovely and all, but I love that she’s actually becoming these guy’s friend (though we’ll always wonder how Ronan really feels about her, ha ha).

Now, while on the subject of Ronan, it really was interesting to see his bigger role in this book. We get to see more about his brothers, and more of what became of his parents. Being that he’s such a dark, angry individual, we can’t help but wonder if he’d always been this way, so when Gansey makes reference to a past Ronan, then we’re left wondering what exactly happened to him. I really loved that we got a deeper look into his life, and then there’s the fact that we’ve learned he can take things out of his dreams…this is obviously enough fodder that we really don’t need to read about anything else, right? No, we’re still getting to know each characters as humans, and this really does help in the development of the book as a whole.

Continuing on with character development, I found myself liking Gansey more as the story went on. He’s trying harder not to come off as a douche when he talks to Blue, but there are still moments when the rich boy mentality shines through. Meanwhile, Blue is learning that Gansey is a rich boy (slight douche) who really just can’t help but be the way he is. She’s learning not to take things so seriously, but as we see her changing in this regard, Adam seems to be going in the opposite direction. Adam is constantly getting offended/upset by Gansey, and this only leads to more contention. I’m not a fan of Adam, personally, cause I understand his need to be his own person and make it out in the world on his own, but the way he goes on and on about Gansey thinking he owns Adam…makes you wonder why he bothers sticking around.

Oh, yeah, because of a certain key line and the fact that Adam is connected to it.

Okay, so I’ll forgive his need to continue on with the group, but I really wish he’d stop whining, and just realize that Gansey genuinely cares about his friend Adam, and it’s not just a ruse to “own” him.

The addition of The Gray Man was definitely interesting, and I’m not sure I’ll ever stop being shocked by how easily it was for him integrate himself into Blue’s mother’s group (considering they are psychics, and he is a hit man) but color me impressed. Their general back and forth was pretty funny, and I enjoyed these scenes between The Gray Man and Maura, Persephone, and Calla, looking forward to more for sure.

All in all, I think it’s pretty obvious that I really enjoyed this book. I’ve barely started the next book in The Raven Cycle, but I’m definitely liking it so far! I will go out on a limb and assume I’ll love it, so I’ll be glad to recommend this series to all.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

