Review of ‘Scarlett Epstein Hates it Here’ by Anna Breslaw

Scarlett Epstein Hates It HereScarlett Epstein Hates It Here by Anna Breslaw

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I cannot even begin to say how much I love Anna Breslaw right now!!!

Scarlett Epstein Hates it Here is officially one of my favorite reads of 2016, and I’m only sad that I didn’t realize it at first, allowing myself to be distracted by my other reads. But once I started this again, I couldn’t stop.

One of the best things about this book, was that Scarlett was so refreshingly funny. She had that humor that was dry, sarcastic, and so very real. So very real, that she could almost be a bit scary as well.

You’re probably wondering what I mean, but it’s in that sense that any person can be scary, even if they don’t realize or mean to be. A lot of times, we (meaning the general human population) don’t realize how much our opinions and words can affect others, cause we’re more worried about how we are treated.

Scarlett is actually quite judgmental, but she balances it out by being someone who cares. She cares about her friend(s?), her recently canceled favorite tv show, and also the elderly woman who lives across the road. (I did not include her family, because I wanted to note those outside of what would be an obvious comfort zone.)

I just loved Scarlett, she was that great. You’ll have to read this book to see for yourself.

I also loved the fan-fiction Scarlett was writing. The characters were pulled out of Scarlett’s life and her writing was interesting and fun. I never was one for fan-fiction, but I respect the people who can come up with clever stories based on the very words they loved.

Now, when it comes to the romance aspect, I liked Gideon. He was also funny, and I liked how he always seemed to be confused by Scarlett and her words/actions. Gideon is one of those freshly popular kids (having been of the uncool brood until more recently, when he slimmed down and grew into his looks) that still has moments of uncertainty when it comes to being popular, and can’t help but make mistakes when it comes to Scarlett. But the boy was still endearing to me, so I liked his part in this.

I could probably go on about my love for this, but I won’t. I’ll conclude this review with ravings of love and hope that you also love this when you read it.
View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

