April Wrap-Up!

I finished eight books in April, which is more than I thought, considering how busy this month had been for me, so this was a nice surprise when I’d rounded them up.

The Memory of Light – Francisco X. Stork

~ 3.5/5⭐️ – I liked the real-life issues presented in this book, and how it didn’t turn mental illness into some kind of fluffy “find yourself” piece. The author drew on his own experience with depression, and you can tell that he knew what it felt alike.

The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1) – Richelle Mead

~ 3.75/5⭐️ – Admittedly not the best from Mead. We all expected a book like the Vampire Academy series, but VA this was not. Personally though, I still liked this book.

Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices #1) – Cassandra Clare

~ 5/5⭐️ – Probably one of my favorites in the whole Shadowhunter series (I haven’t read Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1) yet, so it doesn’t count). I really love Tessa a million times more than Clary, and I love her development.

What You Always Wanted (If Only … #8) – Kristin Rae

~ 5/5⭐️ – I just loved the flow of this book. This was such a cute story, and I loved the constant references to Gene Kelly, one of my favorite classic movie stars.

Curio (Curio #1)Evangeline Denmark

~ 4/5⭐️ – This was a cool, new concept for me. A curio cabinet with a world of porcelain and clockwork (not quite the clockwork in Clare’s series) people…what’s not to love?

Rebel of the Sands (Rebel of the Sands #1)Alwyn Hamilton

~ 5/5⭐️ – I loved this book so much! The mash-up of middle-east meets western is such a clever mix. Hamilton wrote a really fun book, and I can’t wait to read the next in the series.

Queen of Hearts (Queen of Hearts Saga #1) – Colleen Oakes

~ 2.5/5⭐️ – I wanted to love this so badly, because the concept of the origin of the Queen of Hearts, but this book was just annoying to me. I thought the future queen was awful, and I did try to give her the benefit of the doubt because of her own treatment, but she came across to me as cruel nonetheless.
Anna (The Starseed Series, #1) – Meghan Riley

~ 3.5/5⭐️ – A well-written book with small issues throughout, but this was still an interesting read for me, and I’m looking forward to getting answers in the next book of the series.

Leave a Reply

